The Marx Brothers Encyclopedia

The Marx Bros

on February 03, 2012

No Comments

If you want to know absolutely everything there is to know about the renowned comedy team the Marx Brothers, don’t waste your time anywhere other than Glenn Mitchell’s revised and expanded new edition of “The Marx Brothers Encyclopedia.” — more

Tagged: glen mitchell, marx bros, marx bros encyclopedia
Found in Book Reviews, Movie Nothings

The Thorn and the Blossom: A Two-Sided Love Story

Thorn and the Blossom

on January 23, 2012

No Comments

This much is certain: Theodora Goss’ The Thorn and the Blossom: A Two-Sided Love Story is an interesting book. I’ve never really read one like it. It’s a text where its central idea is also its star, where a formal experiment powers the incidental characters and situations around it. I don’t think it’s especially successful, but it certainly gives readers something to think about. — more

Tagged: the thorn and the blossom, theodora goss
Found in Book Reviews

Tank Girl: Bad Wind Rising

Bad Wind Rising

on January 15, 2012

No Comments

Thanks to Rachel Talalay’s 1995 film I’m familiar enough with the character of Tank Girl, but until Bad Wind Rising, the latest collected miniseries from Titan Books, I’d never really experienced her comics. Going into this series relatively blind is a pretty interesting experience. You’ll need to check your expectations of traditional narrative structure at the cover, and your sense of decency too. Fortunately, those are two things that don’t really hinder me, so I was more or less prepared for the weird world constructed by Alan Martin and Rufus Dayglo. — more

Tagged: alan martin, bad wind rising, rufus dayglo, tank girl
Found in Book Reviews, Comic Reviews

Charley’s War: Hitler’s Youth

Hitler's Youth

on January 14, 2012

No Comments

There will always people for whom World War II and especially Adolf Hitler provide a source of endless fascination. Perhaps it’s because Hitler seems like literally the most evil person to ever exist — people feel the need to analyze and unpack this larger-than-life figure who caused the world unimaginable misery. Those people will likely be captivated by the contents of this eighth volume of the 1980s serial Charley’s War reprints, subtitled Hitler’s Youth. — more

Tagged: charley's war, hitler's youth, joe colquhoun, pat mills
Found in Book Reviews, Comic Reviews

The Hammer Vault

hammer1

on December 21, 2011

No Comments

“This book does not aim to provide a complete history of Hammer, but to share the best with its archive on a film-by-film basis. The classics are presented alongside a judicious selection of other titles, each dated to the year production began. The journey begins in 1954 with the experiment that transformed both Hammer and of course British cinema.” — more

Tagged: hammer films, the wicker man
Found in Book Reviews, Movie Nothings

Gig Posters: Volume 2

Gig Posters volume 2

on November 26, 2011

1 Comment

I must confess that before I sat down to read Gig Posters: Volume 2, that particular art form confounded me a bit. I didn’t really understand the idea behind most gig posters I saw, which seemed to be total non-sequiturs when compared with the band being promoted by the work (“what does this picture of a drunk man in a canoe have to do with Okkervil River?”). I was hoping Gig Posters would elucidate the creativity behind these pieces and give me a window into this ever-growing niche at the intersection of art, design and music. — more

Tagged: clay hayes, gig posters
Found in Book Reviews, Music Nothings

Geek Wisdom: The Sacred Teachings of Nerd Culture

Geek Wisdom

on August 16, 2011

No Comments

I’m always wary of things that categorize themselves as “nerdy” or “just for nerds.” I realize that I’m writing this on a site called “Nerdy Nothings,” and just this afternoon we posted some promotional material for a comedy troupe called the “Nerdologues,” but my wariness still stands. I think that sometimes people feel the need to marginalize themselves so others don’t have a chance — they call their pursuits nerdy to write them off before anyone else can, carving out their own niche but alienating themselves from culture at large. — more

Tagged: geek wisdom, nerd culture, stephen segal
Found in Book Reviews

DC Comics: The 75th Anniversary Poster Book

75th Anniversary Poster Book

on December 19, 2010

No Comments

When I was first getting back into comics in high school, Marvel released a magazine-sized “poster book” that featured something like 30 of their current comic covers printed vertically across two-page spreads. If you wanted to hang a poster on your wall you’d have to disassemble the book by removing each set of pages starting from the middle  and working outward. At the time I thought that book was ridiculously cool, and about 12 of those posters adorned my bedroom wall forever. When I heard about Quirk BooksDC Comics 75th Anniversary Poster Book, I rather thought it’d be the same thing.

But Quirk has done a lot more than merely enlarge cover artwork. In fact, I’m pretty sure they’ve created art themselves. — more

Tagged: dc comics, quirk books, robert schnakenberg
Found in Book Reviews, Comic Reviews

Icons: The DC Comics and Wildstorm Art of Jim Lee

Icons

on November 02, 2010

6 Comments

Earlier today I was thinking about iconic pencillers, the ones whose work we imagine when we conjure up the image of a comic character in our mind. Green Arrow’s got Neal Adams. Spider-Man’s probably equal parts Steve Ditko and John Romita Sr. If I had to guess, I’d say that Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman all share the same answer, and if you’re reading this review you know who I’m going to say: Jim Lee. — more

Tagged: batman, bill baker, jim lee
Found in Book Reviews, Comic Reviews

The Simon and Kirby Superheroes

The Fly

on October 15, 2010

2 Comments

The Simon and Kirby Superheroes is a fascinating, if uneven, look at early collaborations between two giants of the comics industry. This beautifully-bound and produced book presents its material in chronological order and includes collections of stories from seven different non-Marvel/DC (Timely/National?) superheroes these two worked on in the 1940s and 50s. Given that, I’d like to spend a little time talking about each segment individually, especially as the heroes and stories represented in this book cover a lot of diverse ground. — more

Tagged: jack kirby, joe simon
Found in Book Reviews, Comic Reviews

site design: haystack needle design    privacy policy©2011 nerdynothings.com     RSS