Chronicle

on February 07, 2012

5 Comments

Over the past few years, there have been three subgenres and film styles that have been becoming increasingly popular: the fake-doc found footage film, the origin story and the super-hero existing in the real world film. Josh Trank’s Chronicle attempts to meld all three of these film subgenres together, and, for the most part, the individual pieces of this equation are as satisfactory as we’ve seen. — more

Tagged: chronicle, josh trank
Found in Movie Reviews

Movie Quick Hits: Reviews of Blitz, The Debt, Dream House & more

the-debt-2

on October 03, 2011

No Comments

We can’t write 500 words on everything, so here are bite-sized portions of recently seen independent and foreign releases, as well as films new to DVD. Even though they slipped through the cracks, these films still warrant your attention. — more

Tagged: blitz, dream house, heartbeats, in a better world, killer elite, mars needs moms, rio, the debt, wake wood, what's your number?
Found in Movie Reviews

Warrior

warrior-1

on September 01, 2011

No Comments

There’s nothing that makes grown men cry like a good sports movie. It might be the love of the competition or a nostalgic recapturing of the dreams most young boys have of being a giant sports star with ultimate glory in sight. Boxing films, in particular, have been some of the most successfully tear-jerking films of the kind, from Rocky to The Fighter, there isn’t quite anything like the thrill of one man with his back to the wall, against all competitive, cultural and social odds. Gavin O’Connor’s Warrior is absolutely a sports film, but it’s definitely trying to break new ground. Focusing on an unconventional sport isn’t the only way. — more

Tagged: gavin o'connor, Joel Edgerton, Nick Nolte, tom hardy
Found in Movie Reviews

Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark

DBAOTD-1

on August 29, 2011

No Comments

I first heard about Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark from its success at various film festivals in 2010. Written and produced by Guillermo del Toro, updating a highly respected made-for-TV horror film, I knew that this was definitely a film to keep my eye on. I was even excited enough to save the film in my Netflix queue, not knowing when the film would be released. Finally, the film received a theatrical release in late August and trailers start playing in theaters and on television. The first time I saw the teaser in theaters I was wildly impressed — it was one of the scariest and creative sneak previews I have ever seen. — more

Tagged: Bailee Madison, guillermo del toro, Guy Pearce, Katie Holmes, Troy Nixey.
Found in Movie Reviews

Movie Quick Hits: Reviews of The Beaver, Colombiana & more

the-beaver-1

on August 29, 2011

No Comments

We can’t write 500 words on everything, so here are bite-sized portions of recently seen independent and foreign releases, as well as films new to DVD. Even though they slipped through the cracks, these films still warrant your attention. — more

Tagged: Colombiana, final destination 5, Limitless, of gods and men, Take Me Home Tonight, the beaver, we are what we are
Found in Movie Reviews

Our Idiot Brother

idiot-bro-1

on August 23, 2011

No Comments

Like its main character, Our Idiot Brother is an easy-going, breezy film that you can’t help but love. As a comedy, it’s a film that doesn’t have a lot of highs, but doesn’t have any lows, and its stellar cast makes it infinitely watchable. — more

Tagged: Elizabeth Banks, Jesse Peretz, Our Idiot Brother, paul rudd, zooey deschanel
Found in Movie Reviews

Quick Hits Movies: Reviews of The Help, The Guard & more

the-guard-1

on August 22, 2011

No Comments

We can’t write 500 words on everything, so here are bite-sized portions of recently seen independent and foreign releases, as well as films new to DVD. Even though they slipped through the cracks, these films still warrant your attention. — more

Tagged: a screaming man, Choose, the conspirator, The Guard, the help, the interrupters, the resident
Found in Movie Reviews

Movie Quick Hits: Reviews of Cold Weather, Road to Nowhere and more…

cold weather

on August 17, 2011

No Comments

Cold Weather (dir. Aaron Katz) – Part neo-noir, part mumblecore, this film works surprisingly well. It’s not going to knock anyone’s socks off, but the dramatic tension and assured direction make this little caper an interesting watch. For those not terribly interested in the low-budget, highly improvised genre, the film minimizes many of the negatives. Grade: B Available on DVD and Netflix Instant Streaming. — more

Tagged: cold weather, i am number four, road to nowhere, the music never stopped, the other woman, the tree, uncle kent, viva riva!, yellowbrickroad
Found in Movie Reviews

30 Minutes or Less

or-less-2

on August 15, 2011

No Comments

30 Minutes or Less is the type of comedy that is entertaining because there are entertaining people involved. If you enjoy the general antics of Jesse Eisenberg, Danny McBride, Aziz Ansari and Nick Swardson, there will be something to take away from the film — but don’t expect much else. — more

Tagged: danny mcbride, jesse eisenberg, Nick Swardson, Ruben Fleischer
Found in Movie Reviews

Rise of the Planet of the Apes

rise-of-the-apes-1

on August 08, 2011

No Comments

When it comes to sci-fi or fantasy movies, in order to truly enjoy a movie, you have to let yourself believe what you’re seeing on the screen can happen, no matter how ridiculous or fantastical. It’s called suspension of disbelief and without it, we’d just laugh, scowl or scoff at movies like Star Wars and Alien. Some movies call for more disbelieving than others, like in the case of The original Planet of the Apes franchise. The sparse and sometimes comical costumes and effects demanded we accept their legitimacy in order to fully engage ourselves within the film’s imagined environment. — more

Tagged: andy serkis, Freida Pinto, james franco, john lithgow, rise of the planet of the apes
Found in Movie Reviews

Older Articles

site design: haystack needle design    privacy policy©2011 nerdynothings.com     RSS